La Galerie B&B Hébergement hôtel motel Saint-Hilaire Beloeil Saint-Marc-sur-Richelieu Saint-Antoine-sur-Richelieu Contrecoeur Verchères Rive-Sud

The History of the House

Discover the history of our house through the chronology of its inhabitants

  • History of the House and its Owners :

La Galerie B&B centennial house in St-Antoine-sur-Richelieu

The Ninth Seigneur de Contrecoeur, Joseph Kemner Laflamme, farmer, carpenter and businessman acquired this imposing home in the mid 19th century and lived there with his wife, Édesse Perrault. Their only child, a daughter, Marie-Ermélinde, who became the tenth seigneuresse, married, in 1873, Louis-Joseph Cartier. One of their eight children, Joseph-Louis Cartier, became, in 1922 the last inheriter of the Seigneurie de Contrecoeur. Three years after her husband’s death, Mme Perrault sold the house to a businessman, Louis Gravel who was mayor of Saint-Antoine several times between 1866 and 1878. His son George inherited the house in 1883. In 1889, he sold it to his brother-in-law, husband of his sister Mélissa, Napoléon Chicoine.


In 1898, Doctor Henri Lapierre bought the house for the sum of $1,500 after which he used the house as living quarters and for his professional and consultation needs. Six years before acquiring the house Dr. Lapierre married Fleurine Bussières. Three of their daughters became nuns. Their daughter Jeanne entered the Clarisses Sisters of Valleyfield in 1912 and founded the monastery of Rivière-du-Loup. In 1916, another daughter Gabrielle entered les Petites Fransciscaines de Marie at Baie-Saint-Paul. In 1952, their sister Gilberte founded the monastery of Lennoxville where she became abbess. Son, Henri-René followed his father’s footsteps and became a doctor in Verchères.


La Galerie B&B St-Antoine-sur-Richelieu
In 1937, Dr. Lapierre sold the house to Heménégilde Gendron and his wife Euphrasie Bertiaume. M. Gendron was a merchant of Saint-Antoine. M. Gendron had a general store several doors from his home. M. Gendron’s daughter, Rollande Gendron, acquired the property and lived there with her brother Jean-Paul who occupied living quarters in the back part of the house facing the river. In 1984, Lionel Villeneuve and the actress Hélène Loiselle became owners until 1990, at which time they sold the house to an American, Antonio Plannels who was from New Mexico. Mr. Plannels was somewhat of an absent landlord because he never actually lived in the house. Marie-Josée, daughter of the writer Yves Thériault rented the house for a certain time in the early 1990s. Mr. Plannels sold the house to a restaurateur from Sherbrooke. This gentleman, M. Jean Bernard opened his restaurant « La Mère Poule » in 1993. The restaurant was in operation for several years until it was repossessed by the Bank in 1996. The house was then un-occupied for nearly a year. Since the summer of 1997, the actual owners, Roger Paquette and Gaëtane Dion live in the house.

  • The architecture :
    This monumental brick house type is English style with its covered porch around the main square. Note the addition of ornamentation crows under the eaves and angle braces "sheaves of wheat" on the gallery.

  • The restauration : La Galerie B&B art Studio-Gallery in Saint-Antoine-sur-RichelieuLa Galerie B&B Gîte et galerie d'art à Saint-Antoine-sur-Richelieu

    From 1997 to 2004 the house was slowly restored to the beauty, charm and grandeur of its original state. The year during which the house was uninhabited caused numerous problems. Certain rooms were in a pitiful state of disrepair. During its years of restoration the plumbing and electricity were completely renewed. Ceilings were strengthened and walls insolated to offer maximum protection against the onslaught of the Quebec winters. A system of central heating was also installed. Each room was restored in such a way as to conserve its original atmosphere. Some examples of the restoration process can be seen in the kitchen. The floor in the kitchen became 5cm deeper because during the restoration several layers of flooring were lifted until the original floor was uncovered. This original floor is what you presently see displayed in the kitchen. Finally, in 2004 the roof and gutters were newly restored to their original look and condition. After ten years and thousands of hours of work, more than a 100 sheets of roofing material, more than 280 litres of paint and varnish, the home has finally rediscovered its charm of past years.

  • La Galerie B&B :

    The project to give a new vocation to this home was born at the time the house was bought in 1997. Nearly ten years later the project takes shape. Plans were made to change the attic into two smart and stylish bachelor apartments. A gook part of the material used in their construction was recycled. In all, four bedrooms now welcome visitors to La Galerie B&B.

English

L'histoire de la maison

     Découvrez l'histoire de cette belle d'autrefois et de ses occupants, d'hier à aujourd'hui

  • Histoire de la maison et de ses propriétaires :

La Galerie B&B Maison centenaire à Saint-Antoine-sur-RichelieuLe neuvième seigneur de Contrecœur, Joseph Kemner Laflamme, cultivateur, menuisier et commerçant, acquiert cette imposante demeure, au milieu du XIXe siècle, avec son épouse, Édesse Perrault. Leur unique fille, Marie-Ermélinde, qui devint la dixième seigneuresse, épouse, en 1873, Louis-Joseph Cartier. Un de leurs huit enfants, Joseph-Louis Cartier, deviendra en 1922 le dernier héritier de la seigneurie de Contrecœur. Trois ans après la mort de son mari, Mme Perrault vend la maison au commerçant Louis Gravel qui est maire à plusieurs reprises entre 1866 et 1878. Son fils George hérite de la demeure en 1883. Il la revend en 1889 à son beau-frère, époux de sa sœur Mélina, Napoléon Chicoine. 


En 1898, le docteur Henri Lapierre achète la maison pour la somme de 1 500$ afin d'en faire sa demeure et son cabinet de consultation. Six ans auparavant, il avait épousé Fleurine Bussières. Trois de leurs filles sont devenues religieuses. Jeanne entrait chez les Clarisses de Valleyfield en 1912 et fondait le monastère de Rivière-du-Loup. En 1916, Gabrielle faisait son entrée chez les Petites Franciscaines de Marie à Baie-Saint-Paul. En 1952, leur sœur Gilberte fondait le monastère de Lennoxville dont elle devenait l'abbesse. Quant à leur fils Henri-René, il a suivi les traces de son père et exercé la même profession à Verchères. 


La Galerie B&B Saint-Antoine-sur-RichelieuEn 1937, le docteur Lapierre vend la maison à Heménégilde Gendron, marchand de Saint-Antoine, et à son épouse, Euphrasie Bertiaume. Ceux-ci tiennent un magasin général à quelques portes de là. Leur fille, Rollande Gendron, acquiert la propriété et son frère, Jean-Paul, habite la partie arrière de la demeure. En 1984, Lionel Villeneuve et Hélène Loiselle, comédiens, en deviennent propriétaires jusqu'en 1990, année où ils la vendent à un Américain, Antonio Plannels, du Nouveau-Mexique, qui l'acquiert sans vraiment l'habiter. Marie-Josée, fille de l'écrivain Yves Thériault, la loue durant une certaine période. M. Plannels la revend à un restaurateur de Sherbrooke, Jean Bernard, en 1993. Il y exploite un restaurant, «La mère Poule» pendant quelques années après quoi la maison est finalement reprise par la Banque en 1996. Celle-ci demeure inoccupée pendant près d'un an. Depuis l’été 1997, les propriétaires actuels, Roger Paquette et Gaëtane Dion, l'habitent.

  • L'architecture :
    Cette maison de brique de type monumental est d'inspiration anglaise avec sa galerie couverte autour du carré principal. On remarque l'ajout d'ornementation par les corbeaux sous les débords de toit et les aisseliers «gerbes de blé» de la galerie.

  • La restauration : La Galerie B&B gîte et galerie d'art à Saint-Antoine-sur-RichelieuLa Galerie B&B gîte et galerie d'art à Saint-Antoine-sur-RichelieuLa Galerie B&B Gîte et galerie d'art à Saint-Antoine-sur-Richelieu
    De 1997 à 2004, la demeure retrouve peu à peu son charme d'autrefois. L'année inhabitée lui a causé de no
    mbreux torts. Certaines pièces étaient en bien piteux état. Depuis ce temps, la plomberie et l'électricité ont entièrement été refaites. Certains plafonds ont été solidifiés et les murs isolés. Un système de chauffage central a été installé. Chaque pièce de la demeure a été restaurée en conservant son cachet original. Pour ne citer qu'un exemple, le plancher de la cuisine a descendu de 5 cm lors de sa restauration récente en raison des différentes superpositions de planchers qu'on a retirées. Enfin, le summum a été atteint en 2004 lorsque le toit et les gouttières ont été remis à neuf selon leur apparence originale. Après dix ans et des milliers d'heures de travaux, plus de 100 feuilles de revêtement mural, plus de 100 feuilles de contreplaqué, principalement pour le toit, plus de 280 litres de peinture et vernis, la demeure a enfin retrouvé son charme d'autrefois, autant à l'extérieur qu'à l'intérieur.

  • La Galerie B&B :
    Le projet de donner une nouvelle vocation à cette demeure est né au moment de l'achat de la maison en 1997. Quelque 10 ans plus tard, le projet prend forme. Plusieurs plans sont faits en vue de transformer le grenier de la partie arrière en deux coquettes chambres de style garçonnière. Une bonne partie des matériaux utilisés dans leur construction sont des matériaux récupérés. En tout, quatre chambres, dont deux dans le bâtiment principal, accueillent désormais les invités de La Galerie B&B.